Established in 1953, the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Education and Research Fund, Inc. (ASCLS E & R Fund) is a 501(c)3 charitable foundation that provides scholarships, research grants, and professional awards that assist in the growth of the Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science profession and enhance the essential services provided by laboratory professionals. The research grants acknowledge excellence in research and are intended to be used as funds for pilot studies, preliminary data collection and early grants for investigators new to research.

Resources originate from contributions and bequests from individual laboratory practitioners, ASCLS members, and industry partners; gifts that honor or memorialize loved ones, colleagues, and friends; and proceeds from the ASCLS annual meeting’s silent auction of premiums provided by individual members and state societies.

Donate To E&R Today on the ASCLS Portal

Donate to E&R Via PayPal 

The Fund offers annual scholarships to honor Dan Southern ($2,000) and in memory of Edward C. Dolbey, Michelle Kanuth, and Bernadette Rodak ($1,500 – $2,500).  A $3000 Edward C. Dolbey graduate scholarship is offered to graduate students in Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science or in a related graduate field. The Fund also offers research grants of $3,000–$5,000 supporting members’ investigations of issues critical to laboratory medicine and health care. The I. Dean Spradling Graduate Research Grant is awarded to a qualifying graduate student in MLS. The awards program recognizes outstanding achievements, contributions, and service to the profession and celebrates the value of professional ability and commitment. Grants, scholarships, and professional achievement awards are presented at the ASCLS Annual Meeting.

For more information, select from the following list:


I. Dean Spradling Graduate Research Grant

Member Research Grant

Recommended Topics for Both Graduate and Member Grants


Edward C. Dolbey Graduate and Undergraduate Scholarships

Bernadette “Bunny” Rodak Memorial Scholarship

Snyderwomen Memorial Scholarship

ASCLS Past Presidents Scholarship

E&R scholarship applications and review are administered by the Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity using a common scholarship application. Applicants utilize forms on the AMTF scholarship website.

Professional Awards

Gloria F. “Mike” Gilbert Memorial Award

Joseph J. Kleiner Memorial Award

Undergraduate Student Poster Award

Glenda Price Diversity in Leadership Award

Cynthia L Breen Memorial Award

Testimonials– Learn more about the value of E & R Fund awards.

For additional awards, select Awards.

For additional undergraduate scholarships, go to the Alpha Mu Tau Fraternity scholarship program.