Charlotte, North Carolina, was the site of the 87th Annual ASCLS Awards Ceremony, made possible by volunteer support of the Awards Committee, awards judges, and ASCLS staff. Scott Aikey, ASCLS president 2008-09, presided as master of ceremonies, and Roslyn McQueen, ASCLS president 2018-19, and Cindy Johnson, president-elect 2018-19, presented the following member recognition awards.

Constituent Society Membership Awards are given each year to stimulate the recruitment efforts of each constituent society and are based on membership numbers as of May 31.

Greatest Percent Increase in Membership:

1st place: ASCLS-DC
2nd place: ASCLS-Utah
3rd place: ASCLS-Maryland

Greatest Percent Increase in Non-Student Memberships:

1st place: ASCLS-DC
2nd place: ASCLS-Maine
3rd place: ASCLS-Utah

Greatest Percent Retention:

1st place: ASCLS-Hawaii
2nd place: ASCLS-West Virginia
3rd place: ASCLS-Maryland

Constituent Society Publication Awards are presented to encourage communication through publications and to promote excellence in such publications.
Paper or PDF-Based Newsletter:

1st place: Montana Laboratory News, Cara Bushmaker, Editor
2nd place: The Analyzer, ASCLS-New Jersey, Katherine DeMenna and Lucy Wang, Editors
3rd place: Insights, ASCLS-Illinois, Masih Shokrani and Michelle Campbell, Editors

Constituent Society Website Awards recognize excellence in a constituent society or other ASCLS-affiliated website.

1st place: ASCLS-Illinois, Demetra “Toula” Castillo, Webmaster
2nd place: ASCLS-Montana, Susie Zanto, Webmaster
3rd place: ASCLS-Michigan, Daniel deRegnier, Webmaster

Political Action Committee (PAC) Awards recognize those states that generously support the ASCLS PAC. Winners are calculated by the amount of donations per member in the respective society.

1st place: ASCLS-Hawaii
2nd place: ASCLS-Montana
3rd place: ASCLS-Idaho

Promotion of the Profession Committee Award provides recognition to those states that have excelled in fundraising events. Winners are calculated by the amount of funds raised per member in the respective society.

1st place: ASCLS-Delaware, Food Bank of Delaware
2nd place: ASCLS-Colorado and ASCLS-Wyoming, Randolph World Ministries
3rd place: ASCLS-Montana, Children’s Miracle Network

Voices Under 40 honors ASCLS members under 40 years old who have shown exceptional commitment to ASCLS, the laboratory profession, and their community at large at a young age in their professional career: Hollie Bearce, Idaho; Krystal Bullard, Tennessee, Nicole Buza, Wisconsin; Joshua Cannon, Pennsylvania; Kristen Croom, Hawaii; Kelcey Harper, Central New England; Joshua Pulido, Minnesota; and Stephanie Souza, Arizona.

Keys to the Future recognizes and rewards ASCLS members who have demonstrated their leadership potential to the organization. This year 53 members received Key to the Future Pins.

Omicron Sigma provides recognition of the members who have volunteered their personal resources, time, and energy to ASCLS on the national, regional, and state levels. This year 686 nominees were recognized.

Membership Milestones recognizes ASCLS members who celebrated 10, 20, 30, 40, and 50 years of membership. The continued choice to be a member is a sign of commitment to the profession and a desire to make a difference. Twenty-two loyal members of ASCLS were recognized for 50 years of membership and being role models in perseverance and professionalism. Our 50-year members are: Karen Bennett, Dorothy Bergeron, Jerome Biondolillo, Evelyn Blazer, Cheryl Caskey, Ellis Frohman, Nancy Gardner, Patricia Hanggi, Naomi Hanson, Linda Hogan, Frances Hutton, Joanna Latto, Susan Leclair, Myra Myers, Toni Okada, Susan Pang, Armand Robert Parada, Garland E. Pendergraph, Nancy Reddig, Josie Roberts, Shirley Stanford, and Donna Weaver.

Constituent Society Member of the Year recognized 23 members honored by their own constituent societies for their leadership on the local and state level in 2019. Congratulations to Angela Craft, Alaska; Linda Horton, Arizona; Cherika Robertson, Arkansas; Justine Coyle, California; J.R. Constance, Colorado; Aaron Odegard, Florida; Brandy Gunsolus, Georgia; Chris Doran, Idaho; Amy Liu, Illinois; Rosalie Hendrix, Louisiana; Dan deRegnier, Michigan; Claudine Fasching, Minnesota; Victoria Rensink, Montana; Mary Kay O’Connor, New Jersey; Angela Meisse, New York; Lisa Cremeans, North Carolina; Elaine Ramstad, North Dakota; Iudita Repta, Oregon; Stephanie Noblit, Pennsylvania; Jennifer Keimig, South Dakota; Shawna Martin, Washington; Susan Stalewski, Wisconsin; and Franki-Marie Herdt, Wyoming.

These societies and member volunteers mentioned above make it possible for ASCLS to achieve and retain its premiere standing in the healthcare community. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Awards are a great way to recognize our members for their efforts, so visit the ASCLS Awards and Scholarships webpage and nominate worthy candidates for the 2020 awards.