The purpose of the ASCLS Scientific Assembly Professional Achievement Award is to recognize outstanding professional achievement of an individual ASCLS member within his or her chosen area of academic, scientific or vocational interest. The award for each Scientific Assembly section will be based on specific measurable contributions through evidence submitted to the judges.

Award: Recipients receive a certificate at the ASCLS Annual Meeting.

Nomination deadline: Feb. 15
The nominator completes and forwards the application form, to the nominee. The nominee completes the application form and returns it to the nominator. The nominator will then submit the form electronically through the Online Awards Application Form.


  • Must be a member of ASCLS for at least four years prior to nomination
  • Must be a current member at the time of award presentation
  • Must be a member in the applicable section of the Scientific Assembly for at least four current and consecutive years
  • Must be active in programs and policies of ASCLS through the mechanisms of the Scientific Assembly on various levels of ASCLS: local, constituent society, regional and national.

Scientific Assembly section chairs and vice chairs are not eligible while serving in their position. In general, nominees of a specific scientific discipline must NOT have received a Professional Achievement Award in that particular Scientific Assembly in the past ten years (see ASCLS Awards Guidelines for a list).  However, nominees from previous years who did not win the award may be nominated in subsequent years with new information obtained over the current year bolstering the application. While this award is not directed toward administrative aspects of ASCLS, active participation in the Scientific Assembly and ASCLS is of importance.

The Awards Committee reserves the right to withhold the award for the current year if nominees do not meet requirements.

Scientific Assembly Professional Achievement Award Winners


Chemistry/Urinalysis: Gerald Redwine

2022 Scientific Assembly Professional Achievement Award Winner Chemistry/Urinalysis Gerald Redwine

Education: Kathleen Hoag

2022 Scientific Assembly Professional Achievement Award Winner Education Kathleen Hoag

Laboratory Administration: Kristina Martin

2022 Scientific Assembly Professional Achievement Award Winner Administration Kristina Martin


  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Masih Shokrani
  • Hematology/Coagulation: Kristin Landis Piwovar
  • Immunohematology: Dana Powell Baker
  • Laboratory Administration: Rick Panning


  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Vicki Freeman
  • Laboratory Administration: Lezlee Koch


  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Maja (Maria) Chloupkova
  • Education: Janice Conway-Klaassen
  • Hematology/Coagulation: Susan Leclair
  • Immunohematology: Stacie Lansink
  • Microbiology/Public Health: Patricia Tille


  • Administration/Consultant/Quality/Accreditation/Industry: J. R. Constance
  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Dyan Monte Verde
  • Microbiology/Public Health: Linda Britton


  • Administration/Consultant/Quality/Accreditation/Industry: William Hunt
  • Molecular Diagnostics: Charlotte Romain
  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Pam Kieffer
  • Phlebotomy: Dennis Ernst
  • Microbiology/Public Health: Susie Zanto


  • Administration/QA/QC/Regulatory/Industry/Consulting: Jean Bauer
  • Chemistry/Urinalysis: Linda Gorman
  • Hematology/Hemostasis: David McGlasson
  • Microbiology/Public Health: Rodney Rohde


  • Administration/QA/QC/Regulatory/Industry/Consulting: Debra Rodahl
  • Generalist: Halcyon St. Hill
  • Hematology/Hemostasis: Roslyn McQueen
  • Microbiology/Public Health: James T. Griffith
  • Phlebotomy: Ruthann Ciszewski


  • Immunology/Immunohematology: Kerry A. Harbert
  • Microbiology: Fran Ingersoll


  • Hematology: Kathleen Finnegan
  • Microbiology: Frank Scarano
  • Molecular Genetics: Peter Hu


  • Hematology: Elaine Keohane
  • Microbiology: Maribeth L. Flaws
  • Molecular Genetics: Susan Orton


  • Molecular Genetics: Patricia Tille


  • Chemistry: Karen Chandler


  • Education: Elizabeth K. Leibach
  • Chemistry: Kathleen Schulman
  • Administration: Cynthia Johnson


No nominees


  • Hematology: Tim Randolph
  • Immunology/Immunohematology: Linda Smith


  • Hematology: Yasmen Simonian
  • Education: Karen McClure
  • Chemistry: Eileen Carreiro-Lewandowski
  • Immunology/ Immunohematology: Patsy Jarreau


  • Education: Diana Mass
  • Microbiology: Patricia Tille
  • Immunology/ Immunohematology: Dorothy Fike
  • Administration: Rick Panning


  • Hematology: Rebecca Laudicina
  • Microbiology: P. Karen Sullivan
  • Consultants: Leticia San Diego