The Lifetime Achievement Award honors a member who has made remarkable contributions to ASCLS and the laboratory field, and who, by outstanding example, has inspired others. Nominees for the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award were: Cheryl Caskey, Louisiana; John Landis, Michigan; Angela Tomei Robinson, New York; Dan Southern, North Carolina; and John Strous, Wisconsin.

The Lifetime Achievement Award winner for 2019 is Cheryl Caskey, who was recognized at the ASCLS Joint Annual Meeting Awards Ceremony in Charlotte, North Carolina.

In her letter of nomination, her nominator wrote, “The impact that Cheryl Caskey has made to the Society and the profession of medical laboratory science is unmeasurable. If I listed every contribution she has made to the Society and the profession, this nomination letter would turn into a novel. Not only has she been active nationally, but has also been active at the regional, state, and local levels. Ms. Caskey has served on the ASCLS Board of Directors, chaired five different committees and task forces, was a member on 14 different committees and task forces, and is currently a member of the Consumer Information Response Team and the Diversity Advocacy Council. Cheryl has represented Louisiana at five CLECs, over 20 Legislative Symposiums, and 42 consecutive ASCLS Annual Meetings. Cheryl has dedicated more than half her life to ASCLS and the medical laboratory profession, remains dedicated to the profession, and promotes the profession with every opportunity that presents itself. I can’t think of a more deserving person to receive the ASCLS Lifetime Achievement Award.”

Congratulations, Cheryl!

It is not too soon to start thinking of nominating a worthy candidate for the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award. It can take time to gather all the information required in the application. Visit the ASCLS Awards and Scholarships webpage for details on this prestigious award.


From left: ASCLS Past President Roslyn McQueen and 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award Nominees Cheryl Caskey, John Landis, Angela Tomei Robinson, and Dan Southern.